November 2018

Our Fellows – Our Leaders:


Dr. Aaron Fenton-Ontario

On October 15, 2018, Dr. Fenton received the Arbor Award for service to the University of Toronto from President Meric Gertler and Chancellor Rose Patten.

Dr. Dan Haas-Ontario

In October 2018, at the International Federation of Dental Anaesthesiology Societies conference in Nara, Japan, Dan was presented with that society’s highest recognition: the Horace Wells Award. This is the first time a Canadian has received this recognition, which honours international accomplishment in the field of anaesthesiology in dentistry.

Brigadier-General (ret) Victor J. Lanctis-Ontario

Dr. Lanctis served as the chief of the Royal Canadian Dental Corps in the early 1990s. He continues extending his service as the Colonel Commandant of this same Corps. Victor is a Life Fellow of the PFA and a Master Fellow and former National (2000) as well as International (2002) President of the ICD.

Dr. Janet Leith-Ontario

Dr. Leith is the new PFA section co-chair for Ontario. Janet currently chairs the Health Policy and Government Relations Committee and the Advocacy Task Force for the Ontario Dental Association.

Dr. Frances Amanda Maplethorp-British Columbia

Dr. Maplethorpe has been serving on the Executive Committee of the World Federation of Orthodontics representing North America since 2010 and has been the current Vice President since 2015. She shall be holding that position until the fall of 2020.

Dr. Michael Prestie-Western Provinces

Dr. Prestie is the new section chair for the Western Provinces. From 2009-2017, Michael served on council for the College of dental surgeons of Saskatchewan, finishing as its president. In 2017, he joined the Canadian Dental Association Board and continues to serve.

Dr. Paul Romanson-Ontario

Dr. Romanson is the new PFA section co-chair for Ontario. Paul has recently been elected as a Director for the Merrymount Children’s Centre.

Dr. Larry Stanleigh-Western Provinces

Dr. Stanleigh received his Fellowship in the Academy of General Dentistry, New Orleans, June 2018.  Larry was elected President of the Calgary Chapter of the Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity.